Nuts nuts nuts

I appreciate it’s not very original to be going on about this, but the fact that the hazelnut seems to be less respected around here does bother me tono end. The almond gets all the glory, and you can actually get it ready ground – hazelnut no such luck. Because toasting and then grinding it is simply too much hassle (I am very lazy) I now import ground hazelnuts from Germany. And why go through the bother?

So I can make yummy cakes with it. My chocolate hazelnut recipe from my greataunt Hedy I have already sung the praises of extensively so it was time to try out something else. Hazelnut torte!

Is it me or did I take an unsharp picture??

This goes really well coffee, I have to say. What you need is:

100g melted butter, 140g chopped/ground hazelnuts (you want them not too smooth so you have some texture), 140g plain flour, 140g caster sugar

1 tsp of baking powder, 2 medium eggs, 100ml cream and some icing sugar for dusting.

Preheat oven (which is such a stupid word, the brilliant George Carlin enlightened me as to how unnecessary that word is. As he said ” there is only two states you oven can be in, heated or unheated. You can’t heat it before you heat it” same as “pre-boarding”…anyways, I’m going off subject but he really was genius) . Sieve flour, 1 tsp of baking powder onto the chopped hazelnuts and stir in the caster sugar. Add the eggs, cream and melted butter, beat with a wood spoon until creamy. Pour mixture into cake tin (20 or 23cm) and bake at 180C for 35-40minutes or until it’s firm to the touch and brown-golden colour. Dust with some icing sugar once it’s cooled and enjoy with a nice cup of coffee.

And another proof that the hazelnut should get more respect, because with almonds this cake just wouldn’t work so well (too sweet and boring)

– Stef

One response to “Nuts nuts nuts

  1. It looks to me like the piece of cake is levitating.

Leave a Reply

