Vegetarian – for a day

So two of my best friends recently told me that they had decided to try being vegetarian for a month. They both failed within a week but respect for the attempt and the intention. It made me think that I really eat too much meat, well, chicken mainly and that whilst being vegetarian is out of the question, I should at least cut down on my meat consumption. A day, that’s how long I lasted, a day. Shame on me. Essentially it consisted of eating aubergine for day, which, let’s be honest, is almost like meat.

I love aubergine, a) they look cool, good shape and colour, killer combo and b) they taste good especially with anything tomato based (another vegetable that gets full marks for colour and form). Despite the fact that I did not last long on my vegetarian diet, I did at least find one really great – and most importantly, easy- recipe:

Aubergine, superior vegetable in style and taste

All this requires is an aubergine, halved, and roasted in the oven for about 20min. Though requires bit of drizzling in olive oil. Then a cut, large tomato is put on top, covered with a ball of mozzarella. Back in the oven at about 180degrees and 5-7min later, all good. Bit of basil and a pinch of salt and my vegetarian lunch was ready. All hail the aubergine!


– Stef

Leave a Reply

