Butternut squash pasta sauce

My blog mates have been trying to kill you with their posts lately, so today I offer a healthier alternative. I say ‘healthier’ and not ‘healthy’ since while this does involve a very large squash, it also involves a cup of cream and cheese. Yum.

I have never cooked squash before because I don’t really like squash. But I’ve noticed, over the past few years, that I don’t really mind as many vegetables as  I claim to hate. I don’t like them, but they’re ok. So when I saw this recipe for Butternut squash pasta, I thought I’d see if I disliked it as much as I thought I did.

I followed the recipe exactly (well almost), and it was good. If you like butternut squash, it may even be great. But so sweet! Which is weird! When I make it again, I’ll swap out the cream in favor of plain yogurt which should help.

Is squash always so overpowering? I kept adding more lemon juice to balance out the sweet. Any other suggestions, my squash-loving friends?

Recipe after the jump.

Butternut squash and parmesan pasta sauce (from Simply Recipes)
Serves 4

1 butternut squash, weighing 2.5 pounds or so
1 tbsp olive oil
1/3 cup chopped shallots
12 or so fresh sage leaves, chopped
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup cream (or yogurt)
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
fresh lemon juice

Cooked pasta for four (I’d recommend a good chunky shape)

Halve the squash length-wise, scoop out seeds and roast in a 350° oven for 45 minutes or so, skin side up in a pan with a wee bit of water.

When the squash is soft and scoopable, take out of the oven and hang out until it’s cool enough to handle. When the time arrives, scoop out the flesh into a blender/processor and puree. I did this in two batches, and left one batch with some chunky texture, and pureed the other until smooth, with a touch of water.

In a skillet with high sides, heat the olive oil and cook the shallots and sage over medium heat for about five minutes. Add the squash, and stir through.

Add the cream in a couple of stages, stirring through completely before adding more. Stir in the cheese, followed by the nutmeg and salt and pepper.

Take stock. Taste and add some water to thin to the consistency you want. Then, add the parsley and a good squeeze or two of lemon and turn off the heat. You have made sauce.

Pour over the cooked pasta shape of your choice. You won’t necessarily need all the sauce, so don’t just dump it all on. If you do have extra sauce, I suspect it would be good on bread the next day. Or, you know, for dessert.

-Eve

One response to “Butternut squash pasta sauce

  1. Pingback: Let’s get it over with and all move to California « I can has cheezcloth?

Leave a Reply

