Stress and food

I’ve always thought that stress leads to comfort eating, but my experience of the last couple of months has been exactly the opposite.  I’m stressed out for numerous reasons (trying to finish my PhD thesis, handling building works, a looming job hunt, etc, etc), and my appetite has all but disappeared.  My habitual early lunch has transformed into a late afternoon affair, and I’m eating just because I know I need to.  I’m wondering whether this is common and the stereotype of comfort eating is misleading.

– Anna

One response to “Stress and food

  1. I’m like you, I completely lose my appetite when I’m stressed. It’s really handy to have one less thing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

