Kale-o-rama

We still have about this much left. Photo courtesy of flickr user tamaradulva, used with a Creative Commons license.

We still have about this much left. Photo courtesy of flickr user tamaradulva, used with a Creative Commons license.

Though the internet tells me kale season is usually in deepest winter, our box o’ veggies has been brimming with it in recent weeks. Which, sadly, means our fridge has been brimming with bags of it. The one dish I’ve made before that uses kale (I’m new to vegetables, remember) is far too wintery for even this chilly September. I’m clinging to the notion of warmth as long as I possibly can.

So, naturally, I asked my good friend epicurious and came up with this recipe for sauteed kale with smoked paprika. We built a whole Mediterraneany tapasy meal around it, and it was really delicious. The recipe as written was too oniony for me, but I recognize that my onion-skeptic ways put me well in the minority.

The recipe is very simple, and I won’t bother repeating the whole thing here (that’s what the link is for). The basic idea, though, is prep your kale leaves and rough chop them, and cook them in boiling water for about five minutes. Drain well and move them in to a large pan with softened onions, olive oil, smoked paprika and a shake or two of chili flakes. Sautee for a few minutes and serve. Really easy.

So easy in fact that, having barely made a dent in the kale stash, I tweaked the recipe and made it again – this time with a French accent. The preparation was the same, but I replaced the onion with thinly sliced leeks, and the paprika with tarragon and a very small amount of mint. In the interest of full disclosure I will admit that it was not very attractive, but it was just as delicious the official version.

So bottom line: high marks for ease, taste and adaptability. I approve!

-Eve

Leave a Reply

