I’m never calling it “pizza” again

How serendipitous!  I just logged on to write a post about the homemade pizza I made last night, only to learn from Eve that it used to be called Italian rarebit.  Amazing.

Last night's homemade Italian rarebit

Last night's homemade Italian rarebit

Anyway, I had an inexplicable urge last night to make pizza, so I whipped up some dough using a Jaime Oliver recipe.  I halved the quantities, and used self-raising flour because that was all I had in the house.  I also used the food processor instead of my hands for the first time.  I don’t think it’s faster, but it avoids the sticky hands problem.  I also found the water quantity specified by the recipe far too high – I didn’t use all of it and still had to add much more flour.

After letting the dough rise and rolling a quarter of it out into something vaguely circular, I topped it with tomato sauce, spinach, mozzarella, carmelized onions, plum tomatoes, and goat’s cheese.  And I still have enough dough for three more pizzas ready in the freezer for an evening I need an easy dinner solution.

– Anna

Leave a Reply

