Lentils lentils lentils

Bit like a broken record me where swabian food is concerned, but I did have to put my care package to good use. So for the first time in my life I made Swabian classic lentils and spaetzle from scratch. Well almost, because the spaetzle were ready made, because that in itself is a blog for the future.

DSC02749

Without any attention span to speak of, I usually stay away from lentils (and let’s face it, it’s not as if I know anything else about lentils nor what to make of them), but this was the happy exception.

First fry some onions, add bacon cut in little pieces and fry for a bit longer until bacon crispy and onion soft. Then add vegetable stock and chuck in lentils. That boils or simmer (what is the difference? I just don’t know) for about 30min or so until it boils down. My brother warned me to not add any salt or normal seasoning, and I of course listened.

Lo and behold it barely needs any spices or seasoning thanks to onion and veggie stock. The only thing I did add at the end is a splash of vinegar and paprika. Then bind it all with some cornflour. That’s it. But of course all it needs is more meat and hurray the sausages. Afraid that needs German sausages, unless you have access to German deli you should stick with Frankfurters from Herta which you can get in most supermarkets. And there we are, Swabian comfort food though I have to admit visually not the most appealing :-).

Leave a Reply

