Rice salad

For some reason I cannot begin to fathom, sometimes I dream about rice salad. I think my mother must have made a curried rice salad five times in the mid-90s, and ever since I’ve had a thing for them. God knows why.

I think they must be deeply untrendy, however, because I’ve found recipes to be a bit thin on the ground. So I was very excited to see a recipe on Serious Eats a few weeks ago. Best of all, it wasn’t even a recipe so much as a list of suggested ingredients. That was all I needed to get chopping.

I started with 1.5 cups of dried long grain rice, which makes quite a bowl full. Serious Eats claimed this would feed 8-10 people, but when Jesse went back for fourths on the first night, it was really barely enough for two meals for the two of us.

As suggested, I cooked the rice like pasta, in a big pot of boiling water, until al dente. I forgot to look at a clock, but it was something like 10 minutes. Drain well and toss in olive oil.

I then assembled my ingredients. It’s basically a laundry list of antipasti, plus celery for crunch. Check out Serious Eats for the full list of suggestions, and add as much or as little as your heart desires.

prosciutto cotto, sliced
pecorino, cut into small cubes
4 celery ribs, diced
green olives, sliced
marinated hot peppers, chopped
roasted red peppers, sliced thin
capers
marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
julienned fresh basil leaves
lots of fresh ground black pepper

Stir all the ingredients into the rice, and dress with red wine vinegar. We managed to let it sit for about two hours before digging in, but I would recommend longer if you can. And it held up well after two days in the fridge.

Invite me to a picnic this summer and I will bring this, promise.

-Eve

One response to “Rice salad

  1. Picnic on the beach on Long Island work for you this summer? Would love to try it there and then!

Leave a Reply

