London pulls through

I had a bit of a breakdown on vacation last week, when the Greek weather turned chilly for a day. It’s been three years since I’ve experienced summer, and I was desperate for every ray of sunshine. Wondering how much longer I could hack it here, getting excited for sunny 71 degree days in July, my English future was genuinely in doubt.

But it’s all better now. On my morning market run, I discovered a truly magnificent development in the Whole Foods* international aisle: three whole shelves of Mexican products! Salsas, nopales, more than one kind of mole, fresh corn tortillas, masa, cans of chiles…

 

My first haul

My first haul

Apparently they’ve taken a bit of a risk with the new product lines, so if there any Stoke Newington readers out there, go buy your weight in salsa and help make sure they stay around. Please! They’re getting tortilla deliveries once a week, so I advise Thursday or Friday visits to ensure freshness.

So maybe I can make it here. With highs of 63 next week, how many chiles do I have to eat to make that ok?

*Yeah, I know. We have three supermarkets** in spitting distance, all grim.

** Four, if you count as Iceland a supermarket.

See who else was excited by the development:

The cat has good taste

The cat has good taste

-Eve

Leave a Reply

