Food fail: Yogurt edition

For the sake of homemade yogurt I put myself in harm’s way on Saturday: I went to the kitchen shop on Upper Street. This is always a dangerous proposition, but I’ve been pretty excited about this little project, and a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

I needed a big glass jar and a thermometer, which I bought, along with a few other things I probably didn’t need quite so urgently. A salad spinner? I’d managed nearly 29 years without one but I suppose it can’t hurt.

Anyhoo, this afternoon I assembled my ingredients – all two of them – heated up the milk and put the thermometer in the pan. When the milk was cooling down I took the thermometer out, and noticed the bulb had broken. So much for that idea…

I’m assuming if I wash the pan thoroughly the mercury isn’t going to kill me, but if anyone out there knows different, please let me know in comments!

-Eve

Leave a Reply

