The quest for perfect yoghurt

Leaving the question of correct spelling and pronounciation to the side for now, one of the eternal food questions for me is the difference in yoghurt or well, dairy products in general, in different countries.

Let’s start off with yoghurt. Firstly there is consistency, can’t be too dense or gloopy because I feel like I’m choking on it, but also not too runny. Secondly taste – good yoghurt doesn’t need sugar but it if it is too sour it ‘s no fun either.

Living in Germany for many years, I finally found the perfect plain yoghurt called LC1 but of course, not sold ANYWHERE else. LC1 had a light but not too runny feel, plus it tasted good. But no luck in good old Blighty! Firstly, barely a plain yoghurt to be found. Always full with fruit-sugar or some other crap – why I just don’t know. Anyways, having travelled to New Zealand, and having ranted already about their weird cream cheese in previous post, I found the solution. Make your own yoghurt! As I have to meanwhile order plain yoghurt online because none of my local supermarkets stock the one I like (Activia, but plain please, pretty please), I will turn to making it myself, hurray! I have yet to purchase the equipment, but yoghurt heaven seems to be in reach at last!

And here are some fun international dairy facts:

I never tasted salted butter until I moved to the UK.  No one knows the joys of quark here, and I’m talking cheese not physics. It’s borderline fat free and so much better in cheesecake. Really, you don’t know what you are missing. I also use it for the base of my quiche lorraine! To get natural-bio yoghurt in South Africa you have to buy something called Bulgarian yoghurt.

Right, I better eat some yoghurt now!

– Stef

2 responses to “The quest for perfect yoghurt

  1. Have recently discovered the joy of eating sheep’s milk yogurt…absolutely amazing (especially with some fresh or frozen – depending on the season – berries mixed in) One of my colleagues at work jokes about the amount of time it must take to milk the sheep to get a container of yogurt. Well worth it!

  2. Here’s the yogurt recipe from the NYTimes http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/15/dining/15curi.html

    seems simple enough!

Leave a Reply

