Skinless, boneless and missed

Seems a no brainer, no?

Seems a no brainer, no? By flickr user Jill (Creative Commons license)

Back in February I decided to stop buying meat at the supermarket, opting instead for a weekly shop at our neighborhood farmers’ market.

For the most part it’s been a pretty painless decision – the sausages are great, chicken legs and thighs are cheap, and I learned how to bone a chicken so, hey, I’ll be that much more self-sufficient when the apocalypse comes. (Because there are going to be dead, plucked and quartered chickens scattered about and kept fresh and cool after the apocalypse, right?)

But here’s my problem: I miss boneless skinless chicken breasts. It’s generally accepted that these are amongst the most boring slabs of protein around, but that’s why there are so many tasty recipes to jazz them up. I can’t really justify spending £10 on two chicken breasts for a curry chicken salad, or miso chicken. But I miss them!

So what’s a girl to do? If my knife skills improve I could consider grilling boned thighs, but I’m not convinced that’ll get the job done. Meat substitutes? I have serious philosophical problems with those. And I don’t like that fine meaty vegetable the eggplant.

Help!

-Eve

Leave a Reply

