Foundation recipes – risotto

Tonight's version in progress

Tonight's version in progress

Some recipes I’ll attempt only once.  Others will enter my cooking rotation in their intended form.  And a rare few serve as taking-off point for countless variations.

This Epicurious recipe has served as the base or inspiration for numerous permutations since I first tried it a few years ago.  It’s a quick and easy weeknight recipe, and I almost always have the necessary ingredients to hand. 

One change I’ve made is that I add a can of chopped tomatoes after I coat the rice for a minute and before I add the chicken broth (or chicken stock, more often).  I use arborio rice, can take or leave the onion, always add more garlic, often use chili (either fresh or dried chili flakes), and substitute coriander for the parsley.  Other ingredients I’ve added include bell peppers, spinach, mushrooms, goat’s cheese, fresh tomatoes, or smoked paprika.

It’s always tasty, and mixing it up keeps it from getting boring.

Leave a Reply

