Makin’ Bakin’

Not pretty

Armed with over a baguette and a half of left over bread cut into cubes from the attempt at fondue the previous evening, I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat the bread slathered in butter and cheese as I’m wont to do (because of the little cubes, of course).  A bit slack-jawed and tired (there may have been a bit of mouth-breathing involved,) I stared at the bowl of bread and thought, “Now what the heck am I gonna do with this £$(**?” The lovely gent in my life being more clear-headed and patient than I am suggested a bread pudding. (He’s English. I’m not.)  Long, boring story short- here’s what I learned:

1. I can resist the urge to follow the letter of the recipe and not buy a bottle of whiskey for two tablespoons and instead use cold tea. (Although I suspect that the pudding would have been better had I given some hooch to the pudding and some to me.)
2. Casting sugar can substitute for icing sugar if you squint and block it out of your mind and swish your arm around a lot.
3. 8 tablespoons of butter and two cups of sugar make everything fine, so give it a try.
4. I really can’t bake.

Recipe from the Silver Palette (from what I remember)

Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce

1 baguette (cubed)
1 quart milk
1 1/2 cup of sugar
3 eggs
2 Tbsp. vanilla

1. Place bread into a large bowl, pour milk over it.
2. In a smaller bowl, mix together the sugar, eggs, and vanilla and add to the bread mixture.
3. Allow to soak for at least 1 hour.
4. Using two tablespoons of butter, grease the pan, and then pour the bread mixture into it.
5. Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour, or until browned and set.

Whiskey Sauce:
8 tablespoons of butter
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 Tbsp Whiskey

1. Melt the butter in a double boiler
2. Add the confectioner’s sugar and, stirring frequently, heat until hot.
3. Remove from heat and whisk in the egg.
4. Continue to whisk until mixture cools to room temperature. Add whiskey to taste.
Cut the warm bread pudding into squares and spoon sauce over the top. The Silver Palate recommends spooning the sauce over individual portions in their warmed ramekins under the broiler until bubbly, but I say: Grab a large spoon and something to hold the pan so you don’t burn yourself, plunk your a$$ on the sofa, and tuck in.

Leave a Reply

