‘Ze German Applecake

I have the honour of being guest publisher in charge of baking simply because I can’t cook, barely recognise most vegetables, have no clue how to bone a chicken.  Also, I carry the flag for German baking because my good people do know how to make cake. Frankly, one of the things I miss the most.
I’ll start off with a real yummy winter applecake that – I believe- is Eve’s favourite!
It’s easy but needs a bit of time and you can make it with the apples that are in season right now, e.g. cox, braeburn.
You need about 1kg (sorry, all measurements will be METRIC,but I believe there is helpful link on the right for converting) of apples which usually works out at about 6-8 apples.

You start with the dough, you’ll need:
250gr flour, 2 teaspoons of baking power, 1-2 tsp of ground cinnamon, 80g sugar, 1tsp of vanilla sugar (really good investment for baking), 1 egg, bit of salt and 150g butter. Sift the flour, baking power, cinnamon and add sugar, vanilla sugar and egg. Cut butter into pieces and mix-knead the whole thing quickly into dough. Roll out half to cover the bottom of a 20cm or 23cm springform. Rest of dough roll into a ball and both goes into fridge for 30min. You’ll need plenty of flour handy because that dough is sticky!

Meanwhile peel, core and quarter the apples. Cut them into thin slices and put them in a pan with 1/8l of water, 2 tablespoon of lemon, 60g sugar, 1 tablespoon of vanilla sugar. Bring to the boil and let it simmer away for 10min, till they look bit glassy. Meanwhile get the form out, bake in preheated oven (190 degrees) for about 10min. Apples should have cooled bit by now. Beat one egg white not entirely but sort of halfway and mix with egg. Take out dough, roll one third into long piece for edge, put the apple mixture in there, smooth, roll out final piece of dough as top and cover the whole thing. Mix one egg yolk with a tablespoon of milk, brush all over cake. Off it goes into oven at 200 for about 40min. Et voila, you have  (well, at least one type of) German applecake.
result

One response to “‘Ze German Applecake

  1. I am pleased to vouch for this cake – it’s deelish. I love it. In fact, when I was enjoying my care package from Stef last night, I was wondering if I could just make the cake part without the apples and have it every day. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

