Defeat by pork, salvation through miso

Ok pig, you win. I’ve eaten so much of you this week, I almost want to take a break from meat. Which I don’t think has ever happened to me before.

But notice I said ‘almost’.

Ditching supermarket meat means buying the week’s protein at the farmers’ market on Saturday, and I couldn’t really let the last two, beautiful [read: hideously expensive] chicken breasts risk rotting in the fridge. But I needed something light. So last night’s dinner was the new family favorite: Miso chicken, Corn and Edamame Salad and brown rice.

I don’t know what else to say other than stop what you are doing and go make this right now. It’s easy, it’s relatively quick, it’s absolutely delicious and – the real shocker – it’s actually healthy. Not just not too terrible for you, but it has honest to god health giving properties like large quantities of essential vitamins. I know, normal people probably don’t find that last point so earth shattering.

Plus, leftovers mean only one meat-free day before market day comes around again. Hooray!

-Eve

One response to “Defeat by pork, salvation through miso

  1. Pingback: Skinless, boneless and missed « I can has cheezcloth?

Leave a Reply

