New creuset

My patience paid off and I finally found a cheap le creuset casserole dish in the post xmas sales. I’m fairly sure my dad had this same dish when I was growing up, though here’s hoping I don’t follow his lead and burn pasta into it because I can’t tear myself away from Tetris. Or was it Dr Mario?

In any event, Sunday was inauguration day:

Chicory soldiers

Onward chicory soldiers

The casserole dish came with a free grill pan, so I had to break that in, too. Sunday’s menu: baked chicory, peas and brown rice accompanied grilled chicken in mustard and herbs.

I was very happy with the cookware, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified of the grill pan. It smoked, it spat, it caught fire twice. I tried to be brave, but I really didn’t let it get hot enough to start off with which just prolonged the torture.

And sad to say, I think this was one of the first real and proper grown up meals I’ve ever made. There was a protein, a starch and not one but two (2!) vegetables. And once I get over the scarring experience of the grill pan, I’ll definitely be trying it again.

Recipes after the jump.

Baked chicory

4 head of chicory, sliced in half lengthwise
3 cloves crushed garlic, unpeeled
2 tablespoons butter
5 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese
6 tablespoons bread crumbs

Melt the butter and place the chicory halves, cut side up, in the pan. Tuck in the garlic cloves. Cook over moderate-low heat until the bottom of the chicory turns golden brown, about 7 or 8 minutes. Then turn over, cover and cook another 5 or 6 minutes, until the cut sides have also started to turn golden.

Cover the chicory with the cheese and bread crumbs, put the lid back on and bake at375° for about 30 minutes, until all the cheese is melted.

Yum.

Grilled chicken with mustard and herbs

4 large chicken thighs

Marinade:
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon dried tarragon
small bunch of parsley, chopped
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Combine all the marinade ingredients in a shallow dish, and toss the chicken thighs in. Let sit some place cool for an hour or two.

When it’s time to get cooking, get a grill pan good and hot (be brave!). Remove the chicken from the marinade, shaking off any excess liquid. Put the chicken on the grill skin side down, and don’t touch it for 4-5 minutes. While it’s cooking, add a bit of white wine or water to the marinade remnants. Flip the chicken over and cook another few minutes, until it’s cooked. Remove the pieces from the pan, and turn the fire off. Pour the last bit of sauce into the pan, let it bubble for a few seconds, and scrape off and chicken bits that got left behind. Pour the lot over the chicken, and eat!

Better than it looked, as usual

Better than it looked, as usual


-Eve

Leave a Reply

