When recipes are wrong

For someone who’s constitutionally unable to follow a recipe, this gets me surprisingly upset. Last night I made split pea soup with chorizo. The experience was fraught from the start:

  • I couldn’t remember if I was making split pea or lentil soup, so had to buy both split peas and lentils.
  • I seem not to have read the recipe, so cooking was well under way before I realised (at a quarter to 8) that it wouldn’t be ready for 2 hours.
  • I also did not notice that the recipe doesn’t say when to add the chorizo to the soup.

I must have finally read the damn recipe 15 times before accepting it really was missing an instruction. I wound up adding the cooked chorizo with about 30 minutes of the stated cooking time left. After about 15 minutes, the balance of flavors was just right, but the split peas were far from being done. The peas were still far from being done at 10.30 when I just chucked the whole thing in a blender, and would up with a hearty sausage soup. Not quite what I was after.

The soup was a hit, though that could have something to do with the several bottles of wine I plied our dinner guests with while waiting to eat.

–Eve

One response to “When recipes are wrong

  1. From a guest’s point of view, it didn’t really go wrong as such, it was just a bit late. But was worth the wait …

Leave a Reply

