Thai coconut soup

I just finished my first non-Doritos based meal of the weekend: this tasty, spicy Thai-ish soup adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I bought the book to try to spur myself into eating more veggies. So far I seem to only choose recipes that, while they contain no meat, also contain no vegetables. Well, baby steps.

Before I get to the soup, do you ever use Bittman’s recipes? I like him, but the timings always seem to be off. Or is it just me?

Neutral oil

An onion or two, chopped

Couple cloves of garlic, minced

A hunk of ginger, minced or grated

Tablespoon or so of lemongrass, minced

Tablespoon curry powder

1 or 2 chiles, chopped

1 litre vegetable stock

1 can coconut milk

2 tablespoons soy sauce

Juice of 1 lime

Cilantro to garnish

In a pan, cook the onion in the oil over medium heat until it is soft and started to brown, about 10-15 minutes. Toss in the garlic, ginger, curry powder, chile and lemongrass and stir it around for a minute or two. When it is all nice and hot, add the stock. Bring to a boil, and simmer.

After 10 minutes or so, add the coconut milk to the soup stock, and cook for another 5-10 minutes, until it’s thickened just a bit.  Add the soy sauce, lime juice and cilantro. Et voila, soup!

Note: As with most things I cook, this isn’t the handsomest soup. But it tastes good! And because I tend to overdue the chiles, and use hot curry powder, I serve the soup over rice.

If feeding more than two people, you’d need another dish.

2 responses to “Thai coconut soup

  1. Pingback: Cold sesame noodles « I can has cheezcloth?

  2. Pingback: Speaking of ruining soups… « I can has cheezcloth?

Leave a Reply

